European Film Awards were handed out on Saturday in Tallin. Polish Hanoi-Warsaw directed by Katarzyna Klimkiewicz won in the cathegory of the short film.

EFA Awards have been awarded anually from 23 years by general voting of all Eurpean Film Academy members, among which such recognized names as Pedro Almodovar, Bernardo Bertolucci, Dardenne Brothers, Stephen Frears, Anthony Hopkins, Agnieszka Holland, Jeremy Irons, Mike Leigh, Ken Loach, Andrzej Wajda and Peter Zelenka can be found. Every year European Film Awards ceremony takes place in one of the European cities. This year’s celebration was held on 5th December in Estonian Tallin. Hanoi-Warsaw – nominated in the short film cathegory at Norwegia Short Film Festival in Grimstad – competed for the prize with fourteen short films from all over Europe. By decision made by the international jury the award went to Katarzyna Klimkiewicz who picked it up personally at the ceremony in Tallin. This is a second such a success for the Polish filmmakers. Last year Marcel Łoziński’s film Poste restante  won EFA for the Best Documentary.

What is also worth mentioning, Polish cinematography had another representative among this years’ winners. Roman Polański’s Ghost Writer was awarded in the cathegory of the best film, best composer (Alexandre Desplat), best screenplay (Robert Harris & Roman Polański), best production designer (Albrecht Konrad) and the best actor (Ewan McGregor).

The awarded Hanoi-Warsaw tells the story of a young Vietnameese Mai Anh, who comes to Poland through a green border. She is heading Warsaw where her fiancé awaits her. Unexpectedly her journey through Poland becomes a dramatic struggle for a survival and dignity. Film was produced by television channel Kino Polska in cooperation with Mastershot Studio, Association1,2 Film, Katarzyna Klimkiewicz and Polish Filmmakers Association Munk Studio.

Katarzyna Klimkiewicz is a graduate of the Directing Department of the Polish National School of Film, Television and Theater in Łódź and scholar of  Binger Film Institute in Amsterdam. Her film Wasserschlacht – The Great Border Battle that she produced along with Andrew Friedman, received the Berlin Today Award at the 2007 Berlinale. The screenplay for Hanoi-Warsaw brought her victory in the Debutant contest organized by Kino Polska television channel.

Detailed information at: European Film Academy